How to disable read receipts on iPhone

How to turn off read receipts on iPhone so senders don’t know when you’ve read their iMessage. You can remove read receipts on your iPhone via the Settings app. In just three steps, you can turn off read receipts on your iPhone to hide them when you’ve read an iMessage. iMessage is an instant messaging service for iOS devices and notifies the sender when messages have been delivered and read.

How to disable read receipts on iPhone

Besides AirDrop, iMessage is one of Apple’s most useful tools. The instant messaging feature allows you to conveniently send messages, photos, and files using data or Wi-Fi to other iOS devices. The feature also provides updates on when your messages have been successfully delivered and read by the recipient.

Read receipts can be especially useful when you need to let the sender know you’ve seen an urgent message. But it can also be a hassle if you don’t want anyone to know you’ve seen their message. If you don’t want people to know you’ve read their messages, you can turn off read receipts on your iPhone. Here’s how to disable read receipts on iPhone in just three quick steps.

How to disable read receipts on iPhone

  • Open the Settings app.
  • Tap “Messages” at the bottom of the list.
  • Disable the slider to the right of “Send read receipts”. If the slider is gray, read receipts have been disabled.

How to remove read receipts on iPhone for specific contacts

You may want to leave read receipts turned on by default but turn them off for certain people, a feature introduced in iOS 10. Open iMessage and tap a conversation with the person you want to disable read receipts for. Tap the person’s profile icon at the top, then select the Info icon. Disable the Send read receipts option.

Turn Off Read Receipts

You can also disable read receipts via the Contacts app. Launch the app and open their contact page. Tap the message icon, then tap the person’s profile icon and select About. Disable the Send read receipts option.

Disable all read receipts with exceptions
Let’s say you want to disable read receipts for all but a few selected people. Open Settings> Messages and turn off the Send read receipts option. The messages will now only show as “Delivered” and not as read.

Now open the Messages or Contacts app and choose a conversation or contact to enable read receipts. Tap the Info icon and turn on the switch for Send Read Receipts. Now when you get a message and read it, they will see that you have read the message.

Tagged With:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *